Why Do Christians Struggle with Sin?

struggleThe Bible says, very implicitly, that Christ  “has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son”- Colossians 1:13 and also that “ sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under law but under grace”- Romans 6:14. I don’t know about the rest of you, but when I think about the reality of this truth and then line it up alongside the reality of my struggle with different sinful tendencies, I start to doubt that I have any part with Jesus Christ.  My hope starts fading. My assurance is almost nonexistent. My sanity starts crumbling

Do you know what I’m talking about? Have you been there? It’s a horrible, despairing place to be.

But think about this for a second, does our struggle with sin point more toward the fact that we aren’t saved…. or does it point more toward the fact that we are saved and known by Jesus Christ? I would venture to say, based on Scripture, that it indicates the latter. If the Holy Spirit was not in us, convicting us of sin and leading us to repent, there would be no struggle. Our wills would be under the dominion of sin, in complete submission to Satan, and we would see absolutely nothing wrong with ourselves– neither in our actions nor our thoughts. In fact, we would see our sin as good.  Look around you, I know you have people in your immediate, everyday life who don’t experience the same internal struggles you do. You see them do horrible, wretched things without an ounce of remorse. We’ve all been there, pre-conversion, but we’re different now. We’re changed, transformed and new.

We must realize that knowing we’re messed up and knowing that we’ve failed God are tremendous blessings. Just think of all the people in the world who are unaware of their sinfulness and headed toward eternal anguish and torture. Their ignorance of who they are in comparison to a holy God will literally be the death of them.  They don’t truly see that they need to be rescued. They may think it’s good to “believe” in Jesus, and they may even go to Church because it’s the “right” thing to do, but they don’t really see that they need Him. I also think that even in the most mature of Christians, it’s possible that pride can subtly maneuver itself  into the heart and mind and start to deceive genuine believers into believing that they “are without sin” (1 John 1:8).  Lord knows we see a lot of people act like this! But the truth is that the sheep of God, in this life, will always fight against sin.

 For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out.  For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.”- Apostle Paul (Romans 7:15-25)

If you’re struggling, praise God. Seriously, praise His Name. Because if there were no struggle, there would be no salvation.  When you fall, get back up and keep fighting. When you’re weary, wait on the Lord and He will revive you. Don’t try to live this life in your own strength, because you won’t succeed. Rely on Him….His presence. …His power…not yours.

And please, please remember that His grace covers your failures.

Every.  Single. One.

God bled on a tree to free you from the consequences of the man that ate from the tree.  The condemnation your sin earned you has been cast into oblivion by God Himself. It has been absorbed, extinguished and forgotten. You are legally righteous in the courtroom of  God and there will be no double-jeopardy.

Many will believe that this kind of “talk” will encourage people to sin. And indeed, for some it will. It always has.  But for God’s elect, this kind of  ”talk” will lead toward more abundant life as they learn to walk in the unwavering, infinite grace of God. The gospel of grace will free God’s children from the bondage of death, break the chains of corruption, and loose the noose of addiction. Some people will be freed from different struggles instantaneously, for some it will be a process… possibly a life long process. But the fact of the matter is that all of us, every one of God’ s elect, will be freed from this body of death on the Day already set by the Father. You’re appointment for complete freedom from your sinful nature has already been scheduled. Put your hope in that Day

Inspired by Matt Moore

Follow us on Facebook

blogGet your ‘FREE’ copy of Blessed Magazine today at www.blessedmagazine.org.  Give as a gift to someone and inspire and encourage them all year-long!

Leave a Reply

