Failure in Waiting on God!

wait_on_the_lord“I want to get married” stated Thomas to his Pastor while they were repairing a wall in the church.  “Ask God and have faith that God will send you who He wants you to be with” replied his Pastor.  “I have been waiting and asking, but its been over 2 years and I haven’t even gotten a bite”.  “Maybe you’re not ready for a wife Thomas.  Remember, God knows all things and when the time is right, He will deliver…you just have to have faith in His timing”  Thomas was a lonely man and desired a wife.  Someone he could talk to, take walks with and go out for dinner.  Yes, Thomas had been asking God for a wife, but the time has come for him to find her on his own.  Within a few months, Thomas announced his engagement to Frances.  Frances was a long time friend of Thomas’s from his years in college.  Frances had been married twice and both marriages ended in a bitter divorce.  Thomas felt as though Frances’s decisions for companions was wrong because he was the one she should had married.  Well, they got married and less than a year later, were filing for divorce because of irreconcilable differences

Like Thomas, many of us decide to take matters into our own hands.  We lose patience with God and His timing and go off and satisfy our own pleasures only to end up in a mess

I’m not going to state waiting on God is easy, but I will state waiting on Him is essential to our overall happiness and contentment in our lives

God knows what we need, when we need it and who we need it with.  He knows the outcome of all situations and failing to wait on His deliverance for our lives is the wrong approach to happiness

God desires for us to be happy.  He takes great pleasure in seeing us happy, thriving and living a life blessed through Him.  When He created the Garden of Eden, it was for our pleasure.  He desired a life with no cares, no disappointments and no sin.  However, all throughout mankind, it has been the same story over and over….my way and not your way Lord.  This type of response to God is a sure fire way of leading a life of disappointments and definitely sin

Whatever you are asking God for today, wait patiently for Him (James 1:4 states: But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing)

Today I pray that God teach us the blessedness of waiting on Him

Please pray this prayer if you are in need of patience and guidance while waiting on your answer from God:

Gracious God, it’s so hard to wait. To wait for new things to happen in my life. To wait for You to answer my prayers. To wait for the open doors that may lead me into a new way of being. During the time of waiting, it seems that all I can think of is having what it is I am waiting for.  At times I feel weary of asking and waiting, and I wonder if You really hear my prayers at all, if You are ignoring me, or if You are simply refusing to give me my heart’s desire. A part of me knows that You want my best, and that Your time is not my time, but Lord, it is still so hard to wait. Deepen my trust, O Lord, during the times when my heart longs for what can only come in the fullness of time. Give me  a calm assurance that Your will for me is grander than anything I could ever imagine. Still my mind and heart in Your love so that I am mindful of the grace You are draping around me every single day, every single moment. I ask this for the sake of Your love

Thank you for visiting our blog.  We sincerely hope that something said within its contents provides hope and a sense of security in your life today.  Remember to seek that which is good in all things in Jesus name.  God bless you!

Inspired by Laraine Turner

Not a subscriber of Blessed Magazine?  Visit http://www.blessedmagazine.org today for your ‘FREE’ digital subscription!

Leave a Reply

