God’s Feelings Are Not Important…Part 1 of 5

love-god-commandments_medWe all know how much it hurts when someone breaks a promise to us, but have we ever asked ourselves why we feel so comfortable breaking  promises we make to God?

The sad truth, is even when we know we are going to hurt God by breaking a promise, which usually involves sinning in a way we promised not to, we see more benefit from giving into whatever the enemy is dangling in front of us than keeping our word

Regardless of whatever we tell ourselves during, or after, these moments, these sinful, dishonest choices reveal how we care more about pursuing worldly happiness than showing God how much we love him–how can we feel so comfortable doing this?

We Cannot Be Honest With God If We Are Not Honest With Ourselves

This is going to sting, but if we, who claim to love God, knowingly do things to hurt him by sinning, and breaking our promises, we have to ask ourselves why this behavior is even an option, let alone something we think is okay enough to do on a regular basis

I mean, it is not like anyone is forcing us to sin or break our word, we do so by choice, but it is extremely rare for us to take responsibility for doing so, almost as if our behavior was conveniently out of our control

What am I talking about?

Look at the statements below, as we have all either said, or continue to say, these things when trying to justify our sinful actions, and broken promises to God as if we have no responsibility in how we live:

“If I sin, God will forgive me anyway so what does it matter”

“Yes, I know this is wrong, but God knows my heart”

“I will start giving once I start making more money”

“I really love God, I do not mean to hurt him by the way I act”

“I want to spend more time with God, but there is just not enough time in the day”

Now, these statements may sound rational at first, but on closer examination, we see they are really ideas like this:

“God, I expect you to love, and forgive me no matter what I do, who cares if I hurt your feelings while I seek happiness in sin”

“Even though this is wrong, I want it more than I care about our relationship, but I do not want to admit this because I might actually feel guilty”

“I do not want to adjust my lifestyle in any way, and I do not trust you to provide, so I will only give to others when I have what I want first”

“I like the idea of being in a relationship with you, and I know you well enough to even know what hurts you, but your feelings do not matter enough for me to change the way I act”

“I like the idea of spending time with you, but in reality, I like doing other things more”

Um, yeah…

No matter what we say to ourselves or others, our actions demonstrate the true desires of our hearts–words are meaningless when our actions contradict what we say

To show this is not exactly a new problem, look how Jesus openly addressed this in the parable of a man with two sons he asked to work, as many people claim to love, and have a heart to obey God, but they only do so with their lips, then turn and deny him by the way they live:

Matthew 21:28-32

“What do you think? There was a man who had two sons. He went to the first and said, ‘Son, go and work today in the vineyard’

“‘I will not,’ he answered, but later he changed his mind and went

“Then the father went to the other son and said the same thing. He answered, ‘I will, sir,’ but he did not go

“Which of the two did what his father wanted?”

“The first,” they answered

Jesus said to them, “Truly I tell you, the tax collectors and the prostitutes are entering the kingdom of God ahead of you. For John came to you to show you the way of righteousness, and you did not believe him, but the tax collectors and the prostitutes did. And even after you saw this, you did not repent and believe him

Does the son who said “Dude, I will toootally do what you ask of me” sound like any of us?

Of course not, we all obey diligently without question!

*cough*

Right, if that were true, the world would be a very different place

Titus 1:16
They claim to know God, but by their actions they deny him. They are detestable, disobedient and unfit for doing anything good

(Hi!)

It is incredibly important to be honest with ourselves when it comes to separating what we say, or think, from how we live, as it is easy to say things that make us feel good, or sound nice to others, but the way we choose to live is what really matters

Uncomfortable truth or what!

Article re-posted from: Nathan

Thank you for visiting our blog.  We pray something from this post will inspire you to seek that which is good and live your life to the fullest in the name of Jesus

Want daily inspirations? Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.blessedmagazine.org

