God’s Word: Where Do I Start?

1 (1)

Many of us have a yearning desire to read God’s word, but may find it difficult

Believe, I used to be one of those who found it difficult, but soon developed a good reading pattern in spite of it all

First, let’s understand one thing….the enemy doesn’t want you involved in God’s word because he knows where it will lead you and how it will affect your life, so don’t be surprised when you begin your journey into God’s word you find distractions are more intense

When I say intense, I mean you will experience becoming sleepy, a sense of boredom and outside things such as the telephone ringing or your family may demand more of your time.  These are all tactics of the enemy, so it’s best you understand them and be aware of them as you embark upon your journey of studying God’s word

When I first began to read God’s word, I downloaded a bible app (Word of Promise) which brought the bible to life

I started my reading journey in the book of Daniel because I was always fascinated with his story, the lion’s den and the fiery furnace and so on.  So…

#1:  Begin with a story you are familiar with in God’s word

Next, I began putting together trivia questions and quizzing my family which got them involved.  The more I learned about God’s word, the more I wanted to share my knowledge…this was exciting.  So…

#2:  Involve your family and turn it into family time with games such as bible trivia

And finally, choose a time when you know you won’t be disturb to fully dedicate your time to God’s word.  I found late in the evenings to be the best time because most of my family is sleep and my friends know that after 10pm, I place my phone on silence because that’s my time to unwind and eventually go to sleep. So….

#3:  Choose a time which will allow you to concentrate on God’s word without interruptions

As time goes on, you will develop your own strategies for studying God’s Word and I would love to hear what those are, so please share with us what you come up with

Be blessed,

  Missionary Laraine Turner, Owner/President of Blessed Magazine.  Vice-President of Precious Life Services.  Counselor and Mentor.  Spiritual Life Coach.  Her testimony: God has chosen me to be a vehicle for His divine purpose. My goal is to demonstrate to the world that through the love and power of Jesus Christ, all can live and have a blessed life. We all have a choice. When Jesus died for our sins, He gave us a choice, but if we refuse to live for Him, He has no choice but to give us our choice in regards to where we want to spend eternity. Please, make the right choice and follow Jesus! Stay blessed my sisters and brothers ♥

Image by Shutterstock

blessed signature

Leave a Reply

