Dating Other Gods

dating

I have to be honest, I have never been the jealous type; that was until the other night. I was talking to my girlfriend, and found out that her ex-boyfriend wanted to “get back in touch.” Immediately thousands of questions ran through my head, the big one being what his real intentions were. Did he just want to talk, did he want to try to get back together, etc.

And to be honest, I wasn’t worried about my girlfriend’s decision; after-all we have been together for quite sometime, and are both planning on getting married soon. However, just the fact that her ex-boyfriend wanted to talk with her bothered me.

The other thing that bothered me, was that I was jealous about this situation! Not the angry, hurtful jealous, but rather a calm, passive, and yet protective jealous. Like I said, I have never been the jealous type, and this confused me, it made me wonder why I was getting so protective of her, and why I didn’t really want the “old” things in her life to come back in… Especially those things that might endanger my relationship with her.

After thinking about things for awhile, I came to realize that I was jealous because I loved her so very much. I was jealous because I didn’t want anything to hurt her, or distract her from me. I was jealous because she meant more to me than anything in the world.

That’s also when I realized we have a jealous God. So often we hear the word jealous, and think angry and hurtful, but there is another kind of jealousy. The kind of jealousy that is formed from TRUE love. And God is a jealous God…

God loves us so much, that He sent His only Son to die for our sins. He loves us so much He keeps forgiving us even though we keep sinning. He loves us so much that He watches over us day and night, offering His protection, and listening to our prayers. And He loves us so much, that He only wants what is best for us.

And because of this, He is a Jealous God. God does not want us focusing on our past, or bringing back the old things that caused us to faulter, the things that were not right for us. He does not want us to fall back into the trap’s of sin, or to be led astray from him. Instead He constantly reminds us to stay focused on Him, so that we may become better Christians, and build a better relationship with Him.

Just like I became jealous when my girlfriend’s ex-boyfriend wanted to come back in her life, so is God jealous when sin and worldly things try to creep back in ours.

What things are trying to creep back in your life today? Are they things that will help build your relationship with God, or things that will only lead you away from Him? Where is your focus… are you still living in the past, or are you gleaming towards the future and the wonderful things God has planned for you?

Don’t let the sins of your past creep back into your life… Don’t date other “Gods.”

Article by Simple Devotions

Image by Huffington Post

blessed signature

Leave a Reply

